Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

HI San Francisco - Downtown

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Priser
karta
Recensioner
9.1
Superb 3,141 Recensioner
  • Värde för pengarna 8.5
  • Säkerhet 9.4
  • Plats 9.4
  • Personal 9.3
  • Atmosfär 8.9
  • Renlighet 9.2
  • Utrustning 9.0
BOKA NU
9.1
Superb 3,141 Recensioner
  • Värde för pengarna 8.5
  • Säkerhet 9.4
  • Plats 9.4
  • Personal 9.3
  • Atmosfär 8.9
  • Renlighet 9.2
  • Utrustning 9.0
HI San Francisco - Downtown Located at 312 Mason Street, , San Francisco.
HI San Francisco - Downtown
USA
San Francisco CA CA, 94102 312 Mason Street
91% 3141
37.7865212 -122.4096465
HI San Francisco - Downtown
    Rum lediga

Följande kommentarer har skrivits av kunder som bokat i de senaste 12 månaderna. Recensioner och betygsättningar i rutan för bedömningar är baserade på alla tidigare feedback och är omdömen från de kunder som lämnat in dem och inte uttrycker åsikter från Hostelworld.com. På så sätt får en direkt recension om hur bra ett hostel är.
Läs våra recensionsriktlinjer

  • Visa:
  • Sortera Efter:
  • Anonym
  • England, Man, 18-24
  • Nybörjarnomad
  • 1 Recension
21 aug 2016
6.6

Was alright I guess, location was a bit sketchy but other than that it was fine.

    • 6.0Värde för pengarna
    • 10.0Säkerhet
    • 4.0Plats
    • 8.0Utrustning
    • 8.0Personal
    • 2.0Atmosfär
    • 8.0Renlighet
  • Anonym
  • Australien, Man, 31-40
  • Nybörjarnomad
  • 1 Recension
18 aug 2016
9.4

We enjoyed our stay at HI San Francisco very much so, we had a very clean private room and the staff were very helpful and friendly. However, we only stayed one night as we had to fly back home to Australia the following day. I. Hindsight I wish we had have stayed there the whole time we were in San Francisco.

    • 8.0Värde för pengarna
    • 10.0Säkerhet
    • 10.0Plats
    • 8.0Utrustning
    • 10.0Personal
    • 10.0Atmosfär
    • 10.0Renlighet
14 aug 2016
10.0

One of best hostels I've ever been. TNX

    • 10.0Värde för pengarna
    • 10.0Säkerhet
    • 10.0Plats
    • 10.0Utrustning
    • 10.0Personal
    • 10.0Atmosfär
    • 10.0Renlighet
Se svar från boendet

Awesome! Thank you for the recommendation! - Mike Foyder, GM

14 aug 2016
10.0

This place was wonderful, it was stylish and had class about it. If you like a more up class place, stay here.

    • 10.0Värde för pengarna
    • 10.0Säkerhet
    • 10.0Plats
    • 10.0Utrustning
    • 10.0Personal
    • 10.0Atmosfär
    • 10.0Renlighet
Se svar från boendet

Oooh Thanks! (blushing), -Mike Foyder, GM

11 aug 2016
8.9

Really enjoyed my stay here. Staff are really friendly, and facilities are always clean and accessible. Basic breakfast with bagels and fruit, but was good enough for me. The beds are not overly comfortable, and covered in plastic so it makes a noise overtime you move - my only negative. they can book airport shuttles for you which is really handy. movie night and free pizza was a bonus on friday night :) would definitely stay here again

    • 8.0Värde för pengarna
    • 8.0Säkerhet
    • 8.0Plats
    • 10.0Utrustning
    • 10.0Personal
    • 8.0Atmosfär
    • 10.0Renlighet
Se svar från boendet

It is great to hear you enjoyed so many things about your stay. I'm sorry that you did not feel the SoFlux covers on the dorm mattresses were comfortable. I will remember this feedback when we are looking to get new covers. -Cheers! Mike Foyder, GM

  • Anonym
  • USA, Man, 41+
  • Nybörjarnomad
  • 1 Recension
10 aug 2016
10.0

This place gets all the details right! From the free bag check to the fresh fruit and bagels I enjoyed everything about my budget stay. Not too many old dudes like me (60) but if you're young at heart and want to keep your lodging cost low this should fit the bill.

    • 10.0Värde för pengarna
    • 10.0Säkerhet
    • 10.0Plats
    • 10.0Utrustning
    • 10.0Personal
    • 10.0Atmosfär
    • 10.0Renlighet
Se svar från boendet

Thanks!

  • Anonym
  • Mexiko, Man, 31-40
  • Nybörjarnomad
  • 1 Recension
9 aug 2016
8.9

Buen hostel; excelente ubicación, limpio, cómodo, seguro. El personal es amable a secas. ¿El único problema? No se presta para conocer gente, falta un bar para esos efectos.

    • 8.0Värde för pengarna
    • 10.0Säkerhet
    • 10.0Plats
    • 10.0Utrustning
    • 8.0Personal
    • 6.0Atmosfär
    • 10.0Renlighet
9 aug 2016
7.1

Very clean, safe hostel, great breakfast if a little crowded. Friendly staff. Stsyed in private room so atmosphere not so important for us but seemed social and inviting. In a very run down area. MANY homeless people which does colour the area but this is a problem in SF. Would stay again though as could count on the reliability.

    • 6.0Värde för pengarna
    • 8.0Säkerhet
    • 4.0Plats
    • 8.0Utrustning
    • 8.0Personal
    • 6.0Atmosfär
    • 10.0Renlighet
Se svar från boendet

Thanks for your feedback. I agree, the number of displaced people on the streets of San Francisco can certainly be jarring and this can color your experience. I do not wish to discount what you are saying, because you certainly felt it, but as a long term resident of San Francisco, I have to say the hostel is not in an area most would consider "run down." We share a corner with three 4-star hotels and are a block from the bustle of Union Square and the major shopping streets of SF. I am delighted to hear we were able to compensate for your negative impression of our neighborhood and that you would still return. When you come back, please ask for me. I would be happy to go for a walk with you and discuss history, social, and economic factors of the surrounding areas if you wanted to. Thank you for your honest assessment, -Michael Foyder, GM

  • Anonym
  • USA, Kvinde, 41+
  • Nybörjarnomad
  • 1 Recension
8 aug 2016
9.7

This is my second stay at the Downtown location. We stayed here again because of the close proximity to public transportation, it is a great central area, and frankly, the kitchen is a wonderful way to continue to eat healthy and economize by doing some of our own food prep. The complimentary breakfast is a nice way to start the day. I am impressed by the overall decor and cleanliness. It would be fun to learn more of the history of this old hotel! I feel safe on the streets in the area.

    • 8.0Värde för pengarna
    • 10.0Säkerhet
    • 10.0Plats
    • 10.0Utrustning
    • 10.0Personal
    • 10.0Atmosfär
    • 10.0Renlighet
Se svar från boendet

Hey Thanks! So glad you enjoyed it here and came back again! HI-USA, originally American Youth Hostels, took over this building 25 years ago in 1991. It was formerly the Hotel Virginia for many decades, then previously the Hotel Minster, and was built at the Hotel Gloster, finished on December 22nd of 1909. It was actually the first building built on the block after the infamous 1906 Earthquake and Fire which destroyed 80% of the city. In light of the devastation and loss of homes, numerous "Residential Hotel" style buildings were built in the same style as ours across the city, but these are most concentrated in the areas around Union Square and the Tenderloin to this day. Such buildings had modest sized rooms and shared bathrooms (making the footprint ideal for a hostel). There is also still traces of the original gas lamp piping which came out of the ceiling to light each room. While DC electricity was also piped into the building, during that time it was expensive and unreliable, so I believe this is why both solutions were utilized. Other features in the building include interior "light-wells" which allow every room in the building to have at least one window, even the interior facing rooms. This was due to San Francisco building code at the time which guaranteed every resident got some sunlight. Our elevator is even the original Otis Flat-Top installed in 1909 (although its been through upgrades over the years). It is indeed an interesting old building, and since you mentioned it may be fun to learn more about the history, I had to try my best! Sincerely, - Michael Foyder, General Manager

  • Anonym
  • Australien, Kvinde, 18-24
  • Nybörjarnomad
  • 1 Recension
8 aug 2016
8.3

If I hop off a 36 hours flight, you can bet your bottom dollar I do not want to make my own bed. Other than that I have nothing bad to say about this hostel.

    • 8.0Värde för pengarna
    • 10.0Säkerhet
    • 10.0Plats
    • 6.0Utrustning
    • 8.0Personal
    • 8.0Atmosfär
    • 8.0Renlighet
Se svar från boendet

Thanks for the feedback, your grievance about putting the fitted sheet on the dorm mattress has been noted! Cheers! - MIke

Hostelworld mobilappar

Boka på språng med de nya Hostelworld-mobilapparna

Här kan du söka och välja mellan 33 000 boenden i mer än 170 länder, var du än befinner dig

Anmäl Intresse För Nyhetsbrev

Skicka in din informatiom

Tack för att du anmält dig till vårt nyhetsbrev!

Prenumerera på vårt månatliga nyhetsbrev för att få de bästa erbjudandena och nyheter skickade direkt till din inkorg. Du kan avsluta prenumerationen när som helst.